I Ran 2 Miles Straight!

Friday as we were driving up to my grandmother’s house, I received a text that I’ve been dreading: my friend’s dad, Captain, had passed. Very sad. I wished I wasn’t 3 hours away but the other couple we game with promised to look after my friend and his wife for the weekend. It made me feel a little better about not being there.

We went out to dinner with my grandparents and their friends. It was nice. We went for a run when we got back. It was a nice run (3/4 mile running, 1/2 mile walk, 3/4 mile running). There is a 5 minute warm up and cool down during which we usually get another 1/4 mile each done so we did just over 2.5 miles. It was tough but we made it with a decent time considering the heat. Saturday we got up very early for the craft show. It went alright…not great but worth my trip. Then Saturday night we went to a roller derby match. That was amazing! So much fun! I’m actually wondering if I could do it. I know our local team is always recruiting. It isn’t really conducive to being pregnant but who knows…if I don’t get pregnant, maybe I’ll try it out.

Yesterday morning we got up early for our run since it was supposed to be very hot. Even getting up early we were running in 80 degrees and 84% humidity. YUCK! And it was a 2 mile run. No intervals…just 2 miles of running. I didn’t think I could do it. I felt like Friday’s run was pretty near the peak of my abilities. However, I am proud to report that I did it. I ran 2 miles….without stopping or walking at all! It took me 30 minutes and 4 seconds but I did it! I have never run more than a mile straight before that run. I can’t believe I did it. I am still in shock and completely proud of myself. Even when I was in shape, I never ran more than 1 mile at a time. I’ve walked at a fairly brisk pace for up to 15 miles but that’s not running. When we started the C25k program, I had trouble running for 60 seconds. And now I can run 30 minutes! How crazy is that?!?!?!

Today is supposed to be 97 degrees with a heat index of 105. Double yuck! We’re supposed to work out tonight but I’m not sure what we’ll do. I’m hoping for nothing too strenuous as I don’t handle the heat well. I always get nauseous when it gets hot outside. I can’t eat, I can’t do much of anything. Thank goodness for air conditioning!

Despite the awful news on Friday, I managed to have a wonderful weekend with my husband and my grandparents. My grandmother freaked out when she saw me in my running clothes and said she could really see the progress I’ve made. That made me feel so great. She commended me on my diet choices throughout the weekend. She lost a ton of weight (around 50 lbs. I think) after being diagnosed with diabetes. She changed her diet and started exercising more. She’s put about 15 lbs. back on since she quit being so strict with her diet and stopped exercising. She told me that she was proud of me and wished she had my determination. I can’t tell you what that meant to me. That encouragement will definitely keep me going for a while.

I hope you all had a great weekend as well. I hope your Monday rocks too! Be well friends.

This entry was posted in family, health, Infertility, PCOS, Small Business, weight and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I Ran 2 Miles Straight!

  1. Thumbalina says:

    Good job on the run!!!! you should be damn proud of 2 miles straight — it is quite an acomplishment!!!! keep it up 🙂

  2. A. says:

    I’m sorry about your friend’s father but totally cheering you on for reaching a performance goal. I spent the past several months trying to get to the mark of running a 5k without stopping to walk after gaining so much weight being infertile, so I can fully appreciate how hard won those victories are. Kudos to you for your perseverance!!

Leave a comment